Home > Uncategorized > Koyaanisqatsi

Koyaanisqatsi

2010 December 30

My apologies for my seemingly abrupt departure.

Last summer I moved into a new position at work. While the tempo was slow at first, that didn’t last long. By this fall, work stress had become significant. There was just more job than there were hours. I am old enough not to fall into the “work longer” trap when there is no end in sight, but even maintaining a normal work week still left me with little desire to spend hours pursuing code at home during the evening. And I was doing exactly that. Coding late at night. Or waking up in the middle of the night to solve some problem that had been nagging in the corners of my mind. I enjoyed it! No doubt about that. But the lack of sleep, and the split attention between the here and now and the climate puzzles were hurting my family life and my work. So I backed off. Way off apparently! 🙂

Blogging – the background reading, the investigations into interesting alleyways, scripting, and writing – was taking too much time and effort. But I couldn’t stay completely away. So I’m back with a small toy (see next post) and a couple of follow-on posts.

Exactly what the rhythm will look like over the next year, I cannot say. Despite the issues raised above, I enjoyed it. My apologies to readers and collaborators who were left in the cold.

Happy New Year and Best Wishes to All!

  1. 2010 December 30 at 10:56 am

    You know … I’ve never actually seen the movie:
    http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=5539613947839465921

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.