Home > Uncategorized > Whiteboard WordPress Theme Change

Whiteboard WordPress Theme Change

2012 May 23

[DON’T PANIC]

Just exploring a new theme.

  1. 2012 May 23 at 10:15 pm

    No nested menus.

  2. 2012 May 23 at 11:12 pm

    manual toggle of comments – not so good
    menus are not nested – not so good
    very clean – that’s good
    wordpress $30 for custom XML – not so good (one reason I’m leaving the old choco theme behind
    reply buttons for comment thread on front page are on top of thread.

  3. Ned
    2012 May 24 at 7:27 am

    Looks rather cluttered, IMHO.

    The distinction between the comments at the bottom of one post, and the start of the next post, is not particularly clear.

  4. Ned
    2012 May 24 at 7:32 am

    Also, unlike the previous theme, at the bottom of the post it doesn’t show a count of how many comments there are. Can’t speak for others, but I like that feature.

  5. 2012 May 24 at 8:54 am

    Appreciate your thoughts. I’m dissatisifed with most of the free themes and don’t feel like shelling out $30/yr for the priviledge of creating or modding my own. I’m not sure what’s next.

  6. 2012 May 24 at 5:57 pm

    Seems I’m back with the theme I first started with.
    Although the Andreas theme is pretty clean – but looks just like noconsensus – maybe I can find a set of options to make them distinct.

  7. 2012 May 26 at 8:34 pm

    I can’t believe you won’t be able to find something there:

    http://wp.smashingmagazine.com/2011/07/05/free-wordpress-themes-2011-edition/

    Smashing Magazine usually rocks. There is also A List Apart.

    Speaking of which, Jeffrey Zeldman suggested this resource:

    http://www.instantshift.com/2010/02/19/60-latest-high-quality-free-wordpress-themes

    If you need some guidance, you can email me.

    Good luck!

  8. 2012 May 27 at 10:39 am

    Thanks for the offer! The problem right now is that I am currently on wordpress.COM. Here my choice of free themes is limited and the ability to use custom CSS or to modify the underlying templates costs $30 a year. Not a huge expense, but annoying. Especially since I already have a webhost service rhinohide.org which I am using for data storage and ‘off-site’ processing. It includes a wordpress option and I have already set up wordpress on that site to play with. Right now, there is a chance that I will pick up my bags and move over there. Maybe.

  1. 2012 June 3 at 2:28 pm
Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 27 other followers