Home > CRUTEMP, GHCN > Did Global Cooling Stop in 1970?

Did Global Cooling Stop in 1970?

2011 January 4

The 1940 trends in the previous post gave us a look into a rising trend that did break into a ‘no trend’ and then a ‘cooling’ trend – for another 30 years. So I thought it would be interesting to look back from 1970. The 30 trend in 1970 actually shows a slight cooling … and reveals a bug in my code. The ‘no trend’ triangle should now be the triangular area above the trend when the trend is falling. (And I guess the chart title is off as well!)

I used the data set prepared by O’Day over at Climate Charts & Graphs. Thus, we have charts for GISTEMP, HadCRU, NOAA. The data for Dec 2010 is still missing – but I’m using the ave for Jan-Nov for the 2010 annual data.

The script is here

Trend GISTEMP 1970 30

Trend HADCRU 1970 30

Trend NOAA 1970 30

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 27 other followers